Book Review: The Princess Saves Herself in This One

The Princess Saves Herself in This One, written by Amanda Lovelace is a poetry collection that tackles themes such as life, death, love, family, and more. It is divided into four parts: The Princess, The Damsel, The Queen, and You. An emotional collection, this serves as a way to empower the readers to fight and eventually, survive.

When you take a shot of alcohol, it burns your throat and your stomach and you will feel that warmth for at least 15 seconds. After that, the burning sensation leaves your body. I am looking for a poem that will burn your throat and stomach but will also have an aftertaste. A taste that will linger in your mouth and will affect you for more than 15 seconds. Those are effective poems, those are powerful poems. And those are the poems that we should be reading. Turns out, The Princess Saves Herself in This One is not that kind of collection of poems.

This is a sad excuse for someone to say that they have published a collection of poems. The so-called poems in this book is nothing but a single sentence cut in words to make it look like a poem. With the rise of Lang Leav, Rupi Kaur, and even Michael Faudet, poetry these days are nothing but a few phrases and words piled up together to form a piece of “poetry.”

The emotion, pain, and message of the poet is clear in this one. There were no ambiguity nor confusion as to what she is trying to say. I really do appreciate the themes in this collection. The way they were divided was great as well because the development of the persona is clear. From a damsel to queen, the journey of the persona is empowering. However, I do believe that poetry is more than just the emotion and message that the poem is trying to convey. There should also be tension and depth in the poems themselves. It is easy to understand the pieces in this collection because every poem is direct to the point and there is no room for discussion nor dissection.

There is no denying that the words, the writing of Amanda Lovelace is heart-wrenching. She conveyed what she felt and experienced in such beautiful words and the emotions are there. But again, this is not enough. Her writing may be appealing but they do not feel like a poem, they are better off as lines in a young adult novel where the character is trying to be poetic. These are not poems, these are just sentences with line cuts.

The Princess Saves Herself in This One is a collection of one-liners that are similar to the typographic quotes that you see floating around Tumblr with 70,000 notes. Poetry is, and should be, more than just the coolness of the words that are being used in the poem. There should also be the emotional impact, depth, and imagery within the poem itself. Poetry is probably the highest and most sophisticated form of literature and we should never settle for a piece that is considered a poem just because it follows the form or structure of a poem.

6 thoughts on “Book Review: The Princess Saves Herself in This One

  1. Great review. I’ve heard lots of good things about this collection and it’s on my shelf waiting to be read. I’m very new to poetry and so I don’t have very complex critiques of it just yet. For me, I enjoy poetry when it touches me and when I ‘get it’! I’m interested to see how I like this one 🙂

    Like

    1. I read the reviews for this one and almost all of them are glowing. I guess this type of poetry is not for me. I do hope you like this one though! It has a great message and it the theme is empowering. Have fun!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes, exactly!!! I’ve read this collection and while I do think that it’s evocative and empowering, the structure and writing style left me unimpressed. When it comes to poetry, I almost always prioritize form over sentiment. Expressing one’s feelings is a habit, but expressing these feelings with finesse and craft is what makes poetry sophisticated.

    I commend the book for receiving a lot of positive attention and praise, but I would not consider the pieces withinh its pages as poems. Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you!
      I look at poetry with such high regards so seeing and reading this collection was a lackluster.
      scattering
      words
      on
      different
      lines
      is
      not
      poetry!
      One thing I am glad that this collection is doing: Introducing people to poetry. I have read lots of reviews that this collection made them want to start reading poetry and this makes my heart jump. I just hope that they branch out to /other/ poems and poets, though.

      Like

  3. Same thoughts. The style is very similar to Lang Leav, tbh. I’m also not a fan of her work. But yes, I believe in baby steps so I’m hoping eventually, these people will build a more critical perspective when it comes to poetry.

    I’m very picky about this. I guess it’s because I write my own stuff.

    Like

Leave a Reply

